Military Spouse Magazine

FEB 2019

Issue link: https://militaryspouse.epubxp.com/i/1071909

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 35

STRENGTH COMES FROM MANY SOURCES For military spouses, we often say our milspouse friends are a huge source of strength. Our fam- ily, both immediate and extended, also play a big part in helping us stay strong. Faith. Long distance friends. Even our pets can help us through challenging days. Love from all of these sources radiates through us and gives us the strength to be bigger, better, and bolder. In this issue, we hear from Mrs. Dawn Goldfein (page 18), spouse of Gen. David Goldfein, chief of staff of the Air Force, on where she has found strength over her decades as a military spouse. Mrs. Goldfein appears on this month's cover with her husband and grand- children. Smiles like theirs can even make people feel stronger. As military spouses, some- times our strength is tested, and that includes with our marriages. On page 16, one military spouse talks about getting counseling with her spouse, and how it helped them put the pieces back together to become a stronger couple. Great loss (page 14), big misunder- standings (page 22), and professional challenges (page 32) can work to break us or make us even more re- silient. By sharing these stories, we hope you can see how to become an even stronger version of yourself in 2019. If you want to share your story of strength, email us. Maybe you can become a source of inspira- tion for another military spouse. Janine Boldrin Managing Editor janine.boldrin@militaryspouse.com E D I T O R ' S N O T E 1 SELF-CARE This is more than a massage and manicure. We're talking giving yourself the space to think and goal set. Allowing time to read a book. Or taking a walk. Quiet time can go a long way toward self-care. Instead of filling up your days, put in some purposeful "downtime" to give your mind time to rest and think. 2 HAVING FUN When is the last time you laughed? I mean really laughed. A belly laugh. No one loves forced fun, but try to think of the things that you enjoy doing just for fun. Riding a rollercoaster? Seeing a comedian? Or playing a fun game? Sometimes laughter truly is the best medicine. 3 STAYING CONNECTED (IN PERSON) While social media is a great way to know what is going on with people, consider making a lunch date or binge watch a favorite Netflix program with a friend or family. These connections are important to maintain because, when things get rough, the shoulder you lean on will be the person you make time for now. H 3 IMPORTANT TIPS FOR STAYING STRONG AS A MILSPOUSE Janine Boldrin Managing Editor janine.boldrin@militaryspouse.com In New York Times bestselling author Marie Force's dazzling historical ro- mance debut, Duchess by Deception, the clock is ticking for a wealthy Duke who must marry by his 30 th birthday – a week away - or else lose his title and estate. There's only one problem - the only woman to catch his eye thinks he's someone else. Can a case of mistaken identity put a damper on unde- niable passion? The Duke's and new Duchess' life will never be the same after a fateful walk down the aisle. With Marie Force's knack for creating memorable characters, this romantic tale of a Duke's dilemma will appeal to readers of Eloisa James and Sabrina Jeffries, and fans of shows like Down- ton Abbey. Marie Force is also a proud Navy spouse! To learn more about Marie Force, visit MarieForce.com And to see more of the terrific books in the Military Spouse Book Club, visit MilitarySpouse.com/bookclub Eating well and working out is usually what people say to do when you talk about staying strong. But your mental health is just as important as your physical health when it comes to staying "in the game" as a milspouse. Have you forgotten to make time for: Illustration By Aimee Forgood • Photo by Suhyeon Choi F E B R U A R Y E D I T I O N F E B R U A R Y E D I T I O N S P O N S O R E D B Y K E N S I N G T O N P U B L I S H I N G C O R P. 6 MILITARYSPOUSE.COM / FEBRUARY 2019

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Military Spouse Magazine - FEB 2019